Tim Challies is by far my favorite blogger. He has been gifted with an amazing talent for the written word, along with the ability to consistently tether those words to truths found in the bible. I love how his articles often end in an awareness of our own sin with regards to the topic at hand. Love it, love it, love it.

Challies recently completed a short series on schooling choices. Sort of. The series ended up consisting more of a lesson on how Christians treat one another when others make decisions contrary to those we ourselves have made. Specifically, decisions that are regarding matters of secondary importance, those that are not central to salvation. Read part 1 here, part 2 here, and part 3 aqui. This is an excellent examination of the topic, exploring the way we behave towards those who choose to school differently than ourselves.

After agonizing over the decision for years (truly) we’ve decided to homeschool our oldest when he begins Kindergarten this fall. Our plan is to continue homeschooling for some time, with the knowledge that other options do exist, and may become more or less prudent over time. One of my primary motivators for keeping my heart from venturing into that “our choice is best for all” realm, is personally knowing families who have made the public school choice and whose families are excelling in that arena. Particularly of benefit is being situated next to a certain friend and neighbor whose young public-schooled children are very well behaved and exhibit superb character (certainly due in no small part to the diligence of their parents).

As I’ve said before, pride is a huge issue for me, and I ashamedly find myself all too often analyzing other family’s choices in a wierd, twisted effort to elevate my own self. “What? They eat non-organic apples?!!!” “I can’t believe they got another pet!!” “They did WHAT with their money? Those crazy fools.” Ridiculous. Absolutely ridicuous. And sinful. These matters are undoubtedly always regarding secondary issues, and yet I still act like some silly high-schooler. At the core of the issue? I must not fully understand my innate wretchedness, my sin-sick past (and present) full of trespasses against a God who has given me life and breath. I must not grasp the sacrifice that was made when Christ allowed himself to be tortured and killed in my place. And, I clearly don’t comprehend the truth that Christ endured that horror not only for me, but every other believer as well (and those who will come to believe). Even those who make different choices than I do. I yearn for the day when this truth is cemented in my heart so firmly that it controls my actions completely.

