This last week my brother Randy spent some time with us after a two week trip to Europe. It was soooo nice to spend some time with my brother and he was a great sport even though I know he must have been exhausted. Randy brought back some treats for the boys, including these shields and flails from a French castle:

We’ve been watching some flail and shield battles on YouTube for early weapons training 😉 My parents arrive this weekend and we’ll have the pleasure of their company as they too adjust back to our time zone.

I really enjoyed this time with my middle brother, and every time I make an expresso since his departure I lament that I am only pouring one cup.

(an interesting note: the flail was apparently originally an agricultural tool used for threshing grain which was later employed by peasants-turned-military men during the middle ages)
