Any guesses what I’m talking about here? I’ll give you two clues: it resembles fluffy falling snow and provides hours of weeding enjoyment in the garden beds. Have you figured it out yet? Yes, it’s that time of the year when the cottonwood trees shed their fluffy cotton-like seeds. Come to think of it, the King Salmon must be running soon. I remember one year (pre-kids) midnight fishing for Kings on the bank of the Little Su with gorgeous cottonwood fiber falling gently all around. Someday I aim to repeat that experience, even if I have to wait a decade.

Have you ever wondered if cottonwood fiber could be spun and turned into something grand? Apparently it can. I’m going to have to add this to my list of “things to try someday”. Sans the cat hair of course. I find that part a wee bit icky.

