So here’s the deal: we cloth diaper. If you don’t, DO NOT FEEL GUILTY!! I’ve seen some great posts around the ‘net on why families chose NOT to put their wee ones in cloth. I wish I could find some of those links, but they’re escaping me at the moment.

That being said, here’s why we cloth diaper:

  • It keeps… um… *poo* out of the landfill. There, I said poo on my blog. Heehee! Just think about all the piles and piles of poo in the landfill. Icky, huh? With cloth diapers all those little (and not so little) deliveries go into the septic system, where they’re eventual pumped and treated and turned into who knows what.
  • Of lesser importance to us, cloth diapering is relatively cheap. Or, at least it would be if I didn’t have so much fun buying exotic diapering fabrics. If you use a prefold system, you can diaper several babies from birth to potty training for around $150. It’s around twice as much for a pocket or all-in-one system (still much cheaper than the cost of disposables). If you’re handy with a sewing machine, you can diaper for nearly nothing. Really.

A cursory google search gives several other reasons why parents cloth diaper. The only point I don’t agree with is the “cloth diapered babies potty train sooner” point. That’s bunk. It makes sense on paper, but I don’t think it’s really true. Kiddos are ready when they’re ready. Plus, many of the new diapers utilize synthetic fabrics that resemble disposables in that babies don’t feel wetness against their skin.

For more diapering info, check out this post on my friend Carly’s blog. She’s the one who introduced me to cloth diapering, and we’ve both sewed up some dipes that worked well for us. Although the Maxwell House stash consists of a myriad of home-made and store-bought diapers (prefolds, flats, pockets, fitteds), I generally prefer prefolds and one-size covers. They’re easy once you learn how to fold them, they dry relatively quickly, and they don’t take up much room.

Some cloth-diapering links:

