Don’t you just love when, at the peak of dark wintertime, seed catalogs start coming in? Living in Alaska, it might be worth signing up for a catalog or two even if you don’t tend a garden. Just seeing the pictures of plants so full of life is a pick-me-up for any winter day.

My favorite catalog is the Seed Savers Exchange. I have yet to order from any of these catalogs (I always end up at Fred’s) but I love looking through them. Maybe this will be the year I actually put in an order.

Planning a summer garden? Check out these gardening journals, an essential tool for keeping track of successes and failures (although, a cheap ruled notebook works well too).

Here are some pertenent garden planning articles from the Alaska Cooperative Extension Service:

Can you believe it’s already February? Planting time will be here before we know it. Yay!!!

