Every four weeks my brother Randy, who works on the North Slope, stops over in Anchorage en route to Prudhoe. He has a five hour layover, which is just the right amount of time to do some shopping and enjoy lunch together. We started these lunches 5 or 6 years ago, and it has been amazing how much I have grown to love this chance to hang out with my big brother 🙂 We’ve grown so much closer, and I know it’s due in a large part to this time we spend together.

Sometimes I bring a kid or two in, and sometimes they stay at home with Aunt Becky (the world’s most amazing sitter!) I feel like I’ve eaten at nearly every restaurant in Anchorage over the last few years, and we’ve found some fun shops along the way too.

In the winter I like to check the Alaska Road Traveler Information Service for road conditions. This site is constantly updated, and color-codes the roads based on travel safety (red=bad, green=good).

