They’re cheap, incredibly versatile, store forever, and are really good for you. If you don’t already eat beans, consider incorporating them into your diet. Oh, and as for that bean problem that-I’m-not-going-to-talk-about-here-but-you-all-know-what-I’m-talking-about, well just work them into your diet slowly, and rinse them during each stage of the cooking process. You’ll slowly get used to them. Really.

Three favorite bean recipes from allrecipes.com:

Refried Beans without the Refry – These beans rock. Seriously. They’re done in the crockpot, with NO fat or oil, just the perfect combo of spices. I like to make up a batch and then freeze them for lunches.

Refried Bean Enchiladas – A great way to use up some of the above refried beans. I’m sure I didn’t use the cottage cheese. I never have that around. I probably used plain yogurt instead. On that note, making your own cottage cheese-ish substitute (paneer) is pretty easy. Just heat up some milk and toss in a bit of lemon juice or vinegar. Bam! Curds and whey.

Turkey Bean Chili – typical chili. Turns out great every time. We usually use moose instead of turkey. A couple of years ago I did a fancy pants tofu cashew creation for our church chili cookoff. I wish I just would have brought this instead.

