I discovered the English Russia blog a few months back while trying to find a picture of a horse and buggy going through a drive-thru. Ever since, I’ve kept up with the RSS feed and it has turned out to be one of the most interesting blogs I follow. The blurb on their “about me” page:

English Russia is a daily entertaiment blog devoted to the events happening in Russian speaking countries, such as Russia (Russian Federation), Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova, Kazakhstan, etc. Everyday something interesting happens in the countries occupying 1/6 of the populated world. We are here to inform you about it.

Aside from the occasional photos of young Russian women playing in fountains (and the sidebars advertising Russian brides), I find this blog very interesting. Russia has always intrigued me. In this area of Alaska we have many friends and neighbors who were born in Russia or The Ukraine, and I would love to know more about the Russian culture. I know that reading Dostoevsky and perusing a blog about Russian eccentricities isn’t going to give me the entire picture, but it’s an interesting place to start.

Some of my favorite entries over the past year:

  • The Northern Fleet Submarines – pictures of the Russian fleet based off the White Sea and the Arctic Ocean
  • B-413 Submarine – Pictures of the interior of this Russian submarine, commissioned in 1968 and decommissioned in 2000
  • Vladivostok war mazes – This stronghold was built in the 1920’s and held functioning arms until 1992
  • Amber Room – This room paneled in amber was given to Peter I by the King of Prussia in 1716 until it was taken out of the country by Nazis during WWII, never to have reappeared
