I’ve had a few posts trickling their way through my brain this last month, so here they are glopped (heehee) together:

  • Ebates Bonus – Remember here where I told you about Ebates? There’s still a $5 sign-up bonus available. It’s free to join, and there are hundreds of stores that you can earn cash back from. So, if you happen to be shopping online anyway (gifts, anyone?) this is a great way to get a few bucks back. I’ve already gotten $18 from ebates and I have another $5 on the way. We put this money in our super-duper-Europe-in-2010-or-bust account. So far we figure we have enough to buy one European bagel 🙂 If only I’d remember to use ebates more. It seems like when we do online shopping I always forget to click through Ebates first. Disclaimer: If you sign up through my referral link I’ll get $5 too.
  • Move over Full Circle Farm, there’s a new CSA in town, and it’s local. Woohoo! Glacier Valley Farm CSA has been operating out of Palmer for the past few months. They have drop off points in Eagle River, Anchorage, and Palmer. The cost is $30 a box. They try to fill the boxes with as much local produce as possible. That is too cool. We don’t have plans to join right now, but will consider signing up if they form a Wasilla drop. If anyone knows more about this, please tell!
  • Saving money at Fred Meyer’s is even easier using new, paperless coupons. Shortcuts coupons are e-coupons that can be directly loaded on to your Fred Meyer rewards card (Fred’s is owned by Kroger). The nice part about e-coupons is that you don’t have to remember to do anything, they automatically come off at the register when you enter your rewards card at checkout. I’ve used Shortcuts at Fred’s for a few miscellaneous items (mainly diapers), and they have worked well. If there are any problems, it just takes a couple of clicks on the shortcuts website and you can report a problem. Once a coupon didn’t come off when it was supposed to and it was taken care of within hours. They just credited my card with some cash that came off during my next transaction. Most of the items listed at shortcuts aren’t things that I would usually buy, but occasionally they can combine with store and manufacturer’s coupons to make for some free or cheap items. For example, I don’t usually buy holiday sheet cookies (ya know, the kind that you just pull of the cardboard and bake), but if they want to give them to me for 50 cents, I suppose I could take them off their hands 🙂 Other e-coupon sites that should technically work with Fred Meyers (although I haven’t tried them yet) are P&G eSavers, and UPromise.
