This year I’ll be reading through the entire bible again. It’s been awhile since the last time I did a complete read through. My goal is to do a read through every other year, but so far I have yet to accomplish this. Surprisingly it’s been since Jimmy was 10 months old, strange coincidence, huh? Well, I’m back on the horse and wanted to share my absolute fav way to do a read through; chronologically. When I left for college I “borrowed” my folks’ chrological bible and I haven’t given it back yet. It’s such a great way to read because it really helps give a timeline the events of the Bible. I remember the first time I did chronological a read through, the part that stuck with me the most was how I could (for the first time) clearly understand how Jesus’ crucifixion was the ultimate sacrifice of the passover lamb. I could better understand how the events and laws of the old testament were put in place by God to prepare human hearts for Jesus’ arrival, ministry, death, and resurrection. You know how in dramatic movies the soundtrack intensifies with a scene, building to a tension-filled final flourish? Now that I’ve read through the bible chronologically, I can hear that same urgent drum-beat throughout the reading of the scriptures. Alright, now I’m gettin’ all excited 🙂 If you’re interested in buying the same one-year bible that I read, here is the compact version on Amazon for $10. Or, here it is for $8 on half.com. If anyone else is doing a chronological read through this year, I’d love to hear about it so we can do a little sharpening 🙂

