Experts say the first step to recovery is admitting that you have a problem. Well, I admit it. I’m an addict. I’m addicted to information. I could spend (and have spent) hours just surfing on the internet, researching topics and subjects of interest. It makes my brain feel satisfied. The down side is the disappearance of large chunks of time. That’s a bad side effect, and one I’ve been trying to conquer since admitting my “problem”. Enter Rescue Time. This is a small app that runs on your computer and gives you once-a-week reports as to what you’ve been spending your computer time doing. It tracks online use as well as what applications are running on your computer. You can also log on to the Rescue Time website to look at more comprehensive statistics. For example, my past month looks like this:

You can see that my top four activities for this past month were video chat (iChat), reading RSS feeds for other blogs (bloglines), shopping or researching about purchases (Amazon), and checking my email (yahoo). These weekly reports have yet to change my computer habits, but I figure it’s at least helping me to see where I’m spending my time.

