I really enjoyed the debate last night. Both candidates had interesting things to say. Yay for politicians. I need to watch debates more often. The one thing that irked me was both candidates responses for who was at fault for the current economy crises. Both cited “predetary lenders” as the cause. Yeah, that was a big part of it. But, that’s also like an obese man suing McDonald’s for making him fat. Where’s the personal responsibility? Of course, it probably wouldn’t bode well at the polls for a candidate to come out and say “You silly people, why did you take out loans you couldn’t afford? Why do you consistently spend more than you earn?” I understand why this phrase didn’t make it into the debate. I was thinking about how a candidate could pull off this type of statement, and I realized it would work well with an Aunt Jemima type character admonishing the American people. I can see it now:

Gwen Ifill: “Who do you think is to blame for the current economic crisis. Is it predatory lenders, or…?”

Aunt J: “Well, I’d like to speak straight to the American People. Chillins’ what were you thinking takin’ on these kinds of burdens? We messed up. We’ve gotten greedy. It tears my heart out to think about all of you out there sufferin’, but I think we can fix things. All we’ve got to do is accept responsibility for the cow pie we stepped in, and change our foolish ways. We need to learn to make do with what we got, make lemonade out of lemons and then grate the peels for lemon pie. Oh, and don’t forget to save the seeds for growing our own lemon trees. We just gotta spend less than we make. I think we can learn to be wise with our resources. I know we can do it!”

The audience stands up and cheers, and starts chanting “we were foolish, we were foolish” as they exit the building, excitedly running home to hug their children and plan their budgets.

Ahhh. Is it dorky of me that I love this picture so much?

