We’ve been doing a LOT of slow cooking lately. I like the flexibility that I have with using the crock pot. I’m never sure when I’ll have a chance to just be by myself, so the crock pot allows me to make dinner whenever it’s convenient, and then just let the crock cook it to perfection. One of my favorite crock pot sites lately has been A Year of Crockpotting. This blogger has committed to using her crockpot every day, and she’s getting me excited about my own slow cooking options. One of her recipes last week was for Fried Rice, a great way to get rid of some leftovers. We tried it out this last Sunday (threw everything in before church and then ate it for lunch) and it was awesome! I like that the blogger has children, so she always comments on what recipes her kids enjoyed. If you got some rice and leftovers around, check this out. We doubled the recipe and it turned out great. Definitly a new favorite:

Slow Cooker Fried Rice

  • 2 cups leftover rice/quinoa
  • 3 T butter
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 2 t worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 t black pepper
  • 1/4 t kosher salt
  • 1/2 diced yellow onion
  • 1 cup of whatever frozen or fresh vegetables you have on hand. (We used broccoli, but she tried carrots, peas, and asparagus)
  • leftover meat (We used leftover ham, but the author tried chicken and ground beef)
  • 1 egg
Mix it up and turn it on 2-3 hours on high or 3-4 hours on low. It took 3 hours in my slow cooker on low, but it cooks pretty hot. Let me know if you try this recipe out!
