A couple years ago I decided to try my hand at making granola. Boxed cereal is just so stinkin’ expensive, and usually not very filling. After going through many, many granola recipes I’ve finally found one that I love. I thought I’d post it here just in case any of my culinary-type friends/family wanted to give it a try:

Granola – Janeen’s version

(originally taken from The Fiddlehead Cookbook, a restaurant located in Juneau)

Mix 10 cups oats with 3 t. ground cinnamon (I also add 1/2 pkg of coconut and some brown sugar). In another small bowl, whisk 4 T. water, 1 C. honey (I use 1/2 Cup), and 1 C. oil. I also add some molasses, and vanilla. I love vanilla! Combine wet and dry ingredients and let rest for 30 min. Bake on cookie sheets in 350 degree oven for 30ish minutes, turning mixture every 10 minutes. Stir in some currants or raisins, and chopped almonds if desired. Makes 1 gallon ziplock bag. For more protein, add sunflower and sesame seeds before baking, if desired.

If anyone else has any good granola recipes, let me know!

